Sportscar team is latest to enter new eSkootr Championship

17 Mar 2022

Irish sportscar team Murphy Prototypes has become the fourth squad to sign up for the new eSkootr Championship that is due to launch later this year.

The new championship will feature 10 teams racing identical 62mph+ S1-X racing e-scooters on six street circuits in major cities. The first race is due to be held in London on 13/14 May.

Dublin-based racing squad Murphy Prototypes has previously run an LMP2 prototype in the European Le Mans Series and Le Mans 24 Hours. The team was founded by Greg Murphy, who also runs the Biodiesel Ireland and Greenwell Resources alternative fuels firms. 

Three other teams have already been announced for the inaugural series: leading British single-seater racing team Carlin; Nico Roche Racing, run by the former professional road racing cyclist; and Italian-American urban transport company Helbiz.

Each team will run three drivers, but unusually they will 'draft' then from a pool of riders that pass an assessment programme run by championship bosses.

At each event, the riders will take part in heat races, with the top four from each progressing into the quarter finals. Eventually, six riders will take part in the event final. There will be championships for both riders and teams.


Subscribe to the Move Electric newsletter


E-cars news and reviews

New Volkswagen ID Buzz: everything you need to know

Citroën ë-Berlingo review

How efficient are electric cars?


E-bike reviews and news

Dawes Arc II e-bike review

Ducati expands e-bike range with first racing machine


E-motorbike reviews and news

New Yamaha Neo is Europe-bound '50cc equivalent' electric moped

Electric Motion Epure Race e-motorbike review


E-scooter news and reviews

Eskuta KS-450 e-scooter review

Taito unveils innovative new three-wheeled electric scooter


E-world news

Electric surfboard firm Awake aims to make waves with first e-foil

Volta Zero electric truck can 'dramatically improve' inner-city road safety